Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So like a complete newbie, I failed to realize there was a washer on the transmission fluid drain plug until after I had re-installed the bolt and filled the fluid up.

Is this bad? Or will I be ok?

I figure I'll see if it's leaking, and if so, drain the fluid, replace the washer, and put my old--although only a day or two old--synthetic tranny fluid back in.

Thanks,
CL

·
Registered
578 Posts
So like a complete newbie, I failed to realize there was a washer on the transmission fluid drain plug until after I had re-installed the bolt and filled the fluid up.

Is this bad? Or will I be ok?

I figure I'll see if it's leaking, and if so, drain the fluid, replace the washer, and put my old--although only a day or two old--synthetic tranny fluid back in.

Thanks,
CL
I believe that is a crush washer used to create a seal between the plug and the transmission. It will likely leak without it. If you are going to wait to put it back on, I would closely monitor the fluid level and check for leaks frequently. Draining the fluid, reinstalling the washer and plug, and filling the tranny back up is definitely the best course of action though.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I believe that is a crush washer used to create a seal between the plug and the transmission. It will likely leak without it. If you are going to wait to put it back on, I would closely monitor the fluid level and check for leaks frequently. Draining the fluid, reinstalling the washer and plug, and filling the tranny back up is definitely the best course of action though.
[/b]
Wonderful....What exactly is a crush washer?

Am I correct in assuming I can just re-use the tranny fluid?

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Are you talking about MTX or ATX? V6 or I4?
[/b]

2004 MTX V6....

I drove it around for about 10 miles. Afterwards, I checked the drain plug area--no leakage....yet...

·
Registered