Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please take time to read.

OK, I'm not good with the mechanics of a car, but I'm halfway convinced this could be engine related. Let me explain my situation.

Blah blah... I had screeching with my car, so I had Pro Care (of BP) change my pro steering and alternator belts. Well, all was fine until maybe, a week later. I'm just getting off of work and I notice my car shuts off when I'm at a traffic light. I figure since I'm in a manual, I stalled out just dazing off in my own world. So I think nothing of it.

Then I notice it does this after another week, specifically when it's extremely hot and my car sat under the sun for 8 hours. Well, a few days ago, it did it again.... except, for the first time, it happened TWICE in one day. It took a while before I could even get the car started again, and at one point, it wouldn't start compeletely and I haven't been able to drive the car since.

Here's a few things I've noticed:

*my car will still squeel when I reverse from parking lots on those "extremely hot" days, but it go's away quickly as I drive
*The car always seems to "shut off" within a mile OR driving 5 minutes, and it happens whenever I'm at a stop light. Coincidentally, the light always changes within a few seconds. I don't know what to think of that one.
*My Uncle said there was nothing in my radiator, or whatever... so we put water in there to cool the engine down. But when I put my car back in my garage, I notice a huge puddle exactly where the water was put, and I occasionally pull my car out and notice a few blots of water, maybe indicating a leak? But for some reason, I feel it has to do with the steering (remember, they changed my power steering belts). I can't really say, but the "water" is sort of a dark orange... maybe light red or brown.