Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everybody!) So I am totally new to mazda world) Been driving my chevy malibu for a while now, but bought my wife a used mazda 6 2008 2.3i with atx. Everything seems great, but the strange big time jerking if I put it in reverse and press gas right away. It feels like a loud clunk and the car just jerks on the spot. There is no problems if I switch it in R, then let the brake pedal go and slowly press gas slowly. When I say press gas right away, I don't mean breaking transmission, I know how to drive and never had problems with my malibu..
I hope I explained the issue pretty well. Thanks)

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have an older Mazda 6, Its just the skyactive gear box, be patient when taking off, when i put my M6 in performace mode (AUS) and im in 1st gear and i hit 6K revs, the gearbox makes a clunk sound, its just how u drive the car, i guess.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The description certainly doesn't sound normal. Have you checked the transmission fluid level?
Just went out and checked the level. It's about 60 degrees out and cold engine, the level is 1/2 inch above the second mark, the color is not dirty..

·
Premium Member
561 Posts
Just went out and checked the level. It's about 60 degrees out and cold engine, the level is 1/2 inch above the second mark, the color is not dirty..
If the procedure isn't in your owner's manual, consult the Haynes/Chilton manual to be sure, but in many vehicles the engine should be running and in park to check the transmission fluid. Some also indicate that the engine should be warm. IIRC in my Jeep Cherokee, there was some engine running + park -> neutral -> park -> drive -> neutral -> park steps needed before measuring to get an accurate reading.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #6