Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New owner of 2004 Mazda 6 from Winnipeg. I am a full time student while working part-time, so I really have to spend my money wisely. however, most tire sellers in town are overpriced way off my limit. I am considering to buy tires from the states. It appears to me that the total price is still cheaper even including the shipping cost. Anyone have any related experiences or special instructions that may help my situation?

I am looking for a set of 4 winter tires (17''), any good recommendations? Thx :)

·
Registered
154 Posts
The last time I considered buying tires from the US, the dollar was not as strong as it is now and I ended up buying local. Even if it is cheaper with exchange, remember the 2.5-4.5% (or whatever) your credit card company will charge for currency exchange. Also, avoid UPS if you can -- UPS Canada charges outrageous brokerage fees. Customs WILL ding you for duty and GST at the border.

You could try a Canadian on-line tire retailer like 1010tires or TireTrends, if you have a local shop in mind who would install for a reasonable price. (...errr, I think. Google them?) It might look a little more expensive, but you won't need to worry about border hassles.

Mind you, I haven't run through the calculations recently to see which would be cheaper -- it's ever changing.

...good luck,

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
QUOTE (Test_Drive @ Nov 7 2008, 06:35 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=1473049
The last time I considered buying tires from the US, the dollar was not as strong as it is now and I ended up buying local. Even if it is cheaper with exchange, remember the 2.5-4.5% (or whatever) your credit card company will charge for currency exchange. Also, avoid UPS if you can -- UPS Canada charges outrageous brokerage fees. Customs WILL ding you for duty and GST at the border.