Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In regards to the bose system, I first thought it sounded ok. One of the things I did was to unplug the back rear midrange speakers. To me, this helped get rid of some of the mids in the system. By default, to me at least, the midrange is just a bit too much unless listening to classical or instrumental. I thought I got the system to a point that was pretty decent to my ears.

So, I took a trip down to panama city beach this weekend. I sat in the passenger seat for a while during our trip because my gf was driving. With the music at a moderate level, what I did not understand, was with the balance set to 0(no left or right bias), that there was much more volume coming from the right side. But when I sit in the driver seat, the sound seems to come from the middle of the car.

When I got back from the trip, I started playing with the balance. Come to my suprise, the right side has a decent sound coming from the front right door. When I then go to the left side, it sounds muddy. I first thought it might be the track I was listening to, but it wasn't. This was effected through all inputs. I then tried the left and right rear door. The same issue. The right door has much more volume than the left door. Granted, its full range sound and not very good, but still.

I'd almost swear that the polarity is swapped on the left side. I know that there is a seperate amp under the car seat, and that there are signals from the head unit that go to the bose amp. I guess, is it possible that the polarity would be swapped on the rear and the front left coming from the head unit? Or maybe the polarity is swapped coming from the head unit going to the amp? Or maybe I have a faulty amp?

I just purchased the car brand new, and I could have the dealership look at it, but this is something I'm not sure if they'd even say they would notice. It would be tough for me to convince them to do anything about it.