Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
a little background. i'm a first year student studying mechanical engineering here at auburn. i'm on a team called Formula SAE. it's sponsored by the society of automotive engineers and is a great way to get experience and a foot in the door in the automotive world, which is what i want to do. there are about 150 teams that compete in the country, and there are also competitions in australia, japan, and brazil. the us has two events, detroit and california.

the rules are pretty specific but i'll try to simplify it:
students must design and build the car by themselves
a new car must be built every year
maximum engine displacement of 600cc, with a 20mm restrictor on the intake
must run on 100octane fuel
must meet noise restrictions and safety standards
besides that it's pretty wide open
scoring is based on numerous differant categories: design, cost, presentation, acceleration, skid-pad, autocross, and the endurance race (22km). places are determined by a combination of these categories.

we're one of the elite teams in the country and usually place very high. last year in detroit we finished 15th out of 125 teams, we placed 6th in california out of about 140 teams. over the last four years we've had 3 top 5 finishes.

specifics about our car:
almost every part on the car is custom fabricated by us excpet for the engine/tranny (but even that has to be modified to fit)
weighs in at about 480lbs wet, no driver
makes 73hp to the wheels
engine is a 600cc honda motorcycle engine from a cbr600f4i
we have the latest motec engine management system with wireless real time data logging, we can change vehicle settings while it is racing
dual stage fuel injection, 8 injectors for 4 cylinders
koni suspension
we use lotus software for suspension design, the same one used on the elise
transmission is a 6 speed push button, air shifted transmission (8 times faster than a true manual)