Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I searched long and hard to find instructions on how to change the atx fluid in the 6-speed auto. I couldn't find anything more than "take it to the dealer." So I went in blind today and did it. The information I really wanted was to identify the transmission oil cooler feed and return lines. I couldn't find it on this or any other forums. (It's not my car and I have very little experience on these)

Well, I disconnected the easiest line to get to and attached a clear hose to the metal side and pulled the rubber hose down and had a helper turn on the car. Turns out I pulled the return side. The return hose enters the transmission below the feed line. The return hose is the higher of the two rubber hoses when you're looking at them from under the front bumper. Had I known this, I probably would have pulled the other hose and done the transmission drain/refill 2 qts at a time like I did. Everything went as planned and the transmission shifts much smoother. It was extremely simple and only took about 20 minutes to do the drain/refill with a helper turning the motor on and off. Hopefully this helps someone out.

Also, just to reiterate this, I used the Mobil JWS3309 fluid, also known as T-IV, or Mobil 3309 used in AISIN transmissions. The transmission in question is the AISIN 6-speed and it's on a 2005 Mazda6s with a 3.0L V6.

·
Registered
70 Posts
Were you able to drain ALL the fluid out at once? I know alot of people here just remove the tranny train plug which allows you to get about 4 qts. or so at a time.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter #3