Mazda 6 Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, about a week ago, I had my oil changed by a local repair shop. I'm a student at Alfred University, and the the closest Mazda dealership is over an hour away (Rochester, NY). To make a long story short, I was driving around last night, and smelled a burning oil smell when I parked my car. I popped the hood, check the oil and there was practically nothing on the end of the dip stick. I didn't get to the point of having my oil light come on, but I couldn't have been too far from that. I called the place that did my oil change, and they showed up within 5 min with a flat bed and the guy who did my oil change. I had mentioned how I read on the forum that people have been using a locking nut on the replaced filter. It sounds like this guy didn't do that.

I have a few questions.
1. Is this the most likely culprit of the leak?
2. What's the likely long term damage that this did?

My car is leased, so it will not be mine in a few years, but I still don't want my engine to be screwed (for me, or for someone else).

Needless to say, I'm pretty pissed off.

·
Registered
315 Posts
Well, about a week ago, I had my oil changed by a local repair shop. I'm a student at Alfred University, and the the closest Mazda dealership is over an hour away (Rochester, NY). To make a long story short, I was driving around last night, and smelled a burning oil smell when I parked my car. I popped the hood, check the oil and there was practically nothing on the end of the dip stick. I didn't get to the point of having my oil light come on, but I couldn't have been too far from that. I called the place that did my oil change, and they showed up within 5 min with a flat bed and the guy who did my oil change. I had mentioned how I read on the forum that people have been using a locking nut on the replaced filter. It sounds like this guy didn't do that.

I have a few questions.