Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

Newbie here. I pick up my new MazdaSpeed6 on Monday!

The one option car does not have is the factory Nav. At the same time, I am wondering if one of the aftermarket units (Nuvi, ToTom, etc.) would fit in that bin on the dash. I am thinking if I then hardwired power to it I would have a semi-permanent install.

Has anyone done this? What models fit in the Bin and still allow it to close? Pics of install would be great.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,828 Posts
Hi All,

Newbie here. I pick up my new MazdaSpeed6 on Monday!

The one option car does not have is the factory Nav. At the same time, I am wondering if one of the aftermarket units (Nuvi, ToTom, etc.) would fit in that bin on the dash. I am thinking if I then hardwired power to it I would have a semi-permanent install.

Has anyone done this? What models fit in the Bin and still allow it to close? Pics of install would be great.

Thanks
[/b]
There are a few members that have the TOMTOM. Couldn't tell ya abou tthe hardwiring though. I really do not thing it would be hard what so ever. Sauder (spelled wrong. sorry) it direclty in to the cigarette lighter or something. I don't know.

You could also go with the lilliput 7" screen and a carputer as well.

·
Registered
1,696 Posts
However, a carputer would be rediculously expensive, and to find all the software to make it run smoothly is a bit of a PITA.

Suppose the boot time for Windows is like 1min on a laptop. You wouldn't be able to use it until it's fully booted up, and ready. Then, you have to load the Carputer interface, then the navi program. Also, the navi program wouldn't be as efficient as a standalone GPS system.

IMO, unless you custom-program everything, including your own OS w/ a GUI, it's just not gonna be as efficient.

My 0.02