Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,221 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK everyone, I'm looking for reviews of brake pads that are OEM substitues (so not BBKs). If you have anything other than the OEM pads, please post how you feel about them. Be specific. I'm not looking for "they are good." Info on track/autox performance with the pads would be great info. I want to make a list of the various pad sets out there and post it all in an FAQ.

·
Registered
11,748 Posts
Note:
I am an MTX driver. I use my brakes to rapidly slow down, or to come to a complete stop. I do not use my brakes to maintain speed in traffic, nor do I use them for constant speed adjustments while driving. Any speed adjustment that isn't drastic is done through throttle modulation and downshifting.

As such I won't be posting on longevity, as I'm well over 30k miles on this set of pads, and they aren't even at the 80% mark. Keep in mind my comments about dust and noise as well.

Carbotech Bobcats:
http://www.liteswap.com/Merchant2/merchant..._Code=mazda6pad

Cost:
95 USD for fronts(or 150 USD with two new front rotors)
85 USD for rears

Installation:
OE Fitment. Some individuals have had trouble getting the pads to fit because of the excessive nipple size. This usually occurs if you don't pre-emptively press the caliper piston back prior to removing it.

Performance:
Excellent fade resistance on the street. Rear pads are sufficent for track use. Cold bite is good, and the pads (alongside with fresh fluid and lines) really help to establish good braking feel. Inital bite is clean, and becomes sharper and sharper the hotter the pads get (till they get saturated). Front pads are not sufficent for track use and you will experience brake fade.

Dust:
Less dust then stock pads. (About 40-50% less, depends on your braking style). The dust is also non corrosive to alloy wheels.

Noise: