Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so i was on tire racks site and for spped6 it lists 7.5 and 8 inch wheels available...can i use 8" without modifacations? more rubber on ground would be nice..

·
Registered
54 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Doh, might need a fender roll then...
[/b]
ok this is gonna sound stupid..but what exactly is a fender roll..sounds like it might f#*k up my car..again i apologize...i'm new to this..my wife always had the nice car and i drove the pos..well shes gone and i finally got myself something cool

·
Registered
4,775 Posts
fender rolling is when you bend the metal in the rear fender well in so that it doesn't damage the rear tire. Search for more info, as it has been discussed MANY TIMES.

As far as looks, it will not look any different from the outside, and will definately not fuck up your car

·
Registered
2,652 Posts
go to the wheel & tire section and use the search key. i posted a bunch of stuff there. u can also check out mazda6tech for more info as stretch has a whole write-up about tire sizing.

·
Registered
54 Posts

·
Registered
676 Posts
what max size tire can a 18x8 rim take? I really think this car needs some more lovin' than 215's ... maybe 235's ?

·
Registered
44 Posts
18x8 235/40 should be entirely possible. There are actually people running that on this forum IIRC. It's also what I plan putting on for the summer (i.e. most of the year here in Texas). The only question is if you can find a wheel you like and that has a decent offset. Offset determines how far the tire sticks out in the direction of the fender. Bigger offset sticks out less. Ideally it would be something like 55 or 50 but I didn't find any except the RX8 wheel perhaps. But a 48 (rare) or a 45 (not so hard to find) should work, too but you might have to roll the fenders which I think is no big deal if you get it done professionally.

Zoomspeed

Dabear,