Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well i have a 2006 6i and im going to be putting in some hids soon and i wanted to know where you guys are mounting the ballast.... pictures would be awesome.
and if you have 4500k or 5k and you have a good picture of the color of the bulb could you also post that b/c im not sure which one of those 2 i want.

·
Registered
440 Posts
This is my Prolumen Kit 8000k on my 05 6i. Couldnt get pics of the bulbs cuz its crappy snowing outside and my camera isnt taking the best night shots right now, aka Im still learning the camera. This is how I mounted my ballasts.

B

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks alot!
still would like to see more places unless there are the standard locations that most people use

i dont have a CAI so mounting on the fuse box would be kind of difficult i think

·
Registered
2,729 Posts
Most of us mount the ballasts to the bottom of the headlight.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yea... i saw a post on that but i want them to be in an easy spot to get to if one blows or something like that.

·
Registered
277 Posts
Here are mine, i just installed them a few days ago, love em! 35w 4500k. I installed the ballast via the double sided tap that they came with and mounted to the panel below the air box on the driver side and behind the wipe fluid resevior on the passenger side. clean it up really good first with brake cleaner.

http://s950.photobucket.com/albums/ad346/F...pg&newest=1

·
Registered
389 Posts
I have my passenger one on the wiper fluid container and my drivers side on the bumper. I also have the 4000k and they give you a pure crisp white look. If you decide to do the halos the whites match almost perfectly. ill try to get pics if i can steal my g/fs camera.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
thanks for the help.
i guess ill go with the airbox on the right light and maybe the washer fluid tank on the left.