Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Thats how far your music can travel when your bumpin down the street. I just found this out. Im sure alot of your already knew that, but im a newb. I just pulled up in front of a Starbucks, in downtown Davis. As im getting out i notice a cop sitting literally right next to my car at the little out-door seats. He is staring at me.

I come back out with the drinks for me and my gf, and i hear the cop say "50 feet." I kinda pause, getting in the car. I look at him and say "What?" He replies again with.. "50 feet." I just kinda sit, like "wtf?" So i say "Uh...ok?" Then he explains that my music cant be heard more than 50 feet from the car past 10pm. So i just laugh, and say "oh ok, sorry." And start to get in... then i say "Its stock... i didnt even realise. Btw, how far is 50 feet?" To witch he replied "Well, definetely to that street corner, and i totally heard you from there."

So yah, guess i dont need to upgrade my sound system. And its not the Bose, its just the stock system that came with my 6 disc CD changer, in my 04 M6. 50 ft... i totally didnt know that.

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
............ i think he is just trying to scare u !! lol... never heard of that regulation b4

·
Registered
2,044 Posts
most states/localities have laws/ordances on sound levels. they are typically defined as a decible level at a given distance & speed. check your state/city laws for specifics.

·
Registered
335 Posts
yesir. yea i have heard there are restrictions on how loud we can blast our music. aka decible levels. but usually there is little enforcement on them.

but seeing the cop had the time to tell you about it. or maybe he didnt like the music you were playing? haha.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Pretty cool that he pointed it out to you and didn't ticket you for it. That's more than the city/town cops in this area would do.

·
Registered
44 Posts