Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Need your help. I have been driving my Mazda for almost 3 years (37K miles) and finally noticed the "Battery Management System Inspection" for about a week now. I thought of buying one of Costco's Interstate Battery (550 CCA w/ the same size), do it myself, and save money. However, I also read it online that only Mazda dealers may be able to assist me with the battery replacement for about $400-$600.

Is it really worth spending $400-$600 for a battery replacement? This is my first Mazda car by the way:)

Thoughts?

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
17,212 Posts
$400-600 for a battery?! This is why we call them stealerships.

Double check your manual, but you should be fine with any 'ol battery.

·
Super Moderator
17,212 Posts
I think if he has Iloop or whatever it's called ...you can't just drop in a regular battery.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Oh crap I forgot the 2015s had that option - If that's the case then you might be SOL :(

·
Registered
108 Posts
Need your help. I have been driving my Mazda for almost 3 years (37K miles) and finally noticed the "Battery Management System Inspection" for about a week now. I thought of buying one of Costco's Interstate Battery (550 CCA w/ the same size), do it myself, and save money. However, I also read it online that only Mazda dealers may be able to assist me with the battery replacement for about $400-$600.

Is it really worth spending $400-$600 for a battery replacement? This is my first Mazda car by the way:)

Thoughts?

Thanks!
I am in the same situation right now....2014 GT with i-Eloop which requires a special Mazda Q85 battery. I got the same battery maintenance message this week. The i-Eloop apparently REQUIRES the special battery and yes it retails for about $400 USD. I've been trying to find a cheaper after-market replacement but so far i've found nothing yet. I may have to resort to calling the local stealership.... :(

·