Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm changing the rear pads for the rear of my 07 M6, and I need to push the caliper back down using this tool instead of the clamp tool I used on the front, but I cannot get the piston to go down, Service manual says to turn it clockwise, which I do, but I cannot get this piston to go down or turn without extreme difficulty and effort. This is with the brake fluid cap off and bleeder off the caliper too, and because of the limited space and the caliper isn't locked down on anything, it is also insanely difficult to get the tool on the piston properly while also having the caliper firmly stable.

• Caliper is not seized
  • E-brake is off
What am I doing wrong? Am I missing something? Managed to get it decompressed by a tenth of an inch, but we can't get it to go any lower.

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hello from the UK. I am a technician.
If your handbrake is electric then you must use a diagnostic tool to tell the car you intend to change the pads.
Other than that those cubes are kinda useless and you often end up nipping your fingers with them. Anyway you need a piston rewind kit it fits into the caliper and provides downwards force at the same time as rotational force. Or just continue with the cube and really put your back into it but take care not to strain the brake fluid hose.
Good luck!

·
Registered
256 Posts
Long needle nose pliers and be EXTRA careful not slip and pierce the rubber boot cover. A study hand is important and go slow with slowly building force. Those cube tools never worked on any car that I’ve owned. Right on the downward and rotational force, but no electric ebrakes on Mazdaspeed 6’s.

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
You can try this out:

I have confirmed the method and it works for 2017-2018 model. I hope it will also work for your car model.