Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm totally stumped by this phenomenon. As the title implies the engine (2006, 3.0L S) stutters and occasionally backfires when accelerating but only after it warms up and presumably goes "closed loop" (correct me if my terminology are off, I'm not a mechanic by trade).

I replaced the fuel pump last week with a used pump but that changed nothing. I replaced the MAF (mass airflow sensor) yesterday again with zero improvement. It has thrown zero codes so no check engine light illuminates.

I feel like it's constantly running rich which to me explains why I get two to three minutes of perfect function in the morning when I pull it out of the garage and then it goes back to it's devilish ways. If I drive aggressively (heavy foot, higher than normal revving) it is fine. Furthermore, I'm getting terrible gas mileage, which again points me to a rich mixture. Now I'm leaning towards O2 sensors now but honestly at this point I'm just buying parts blindly.

I'm close to my technical (and financial) troubleshooting limit on this one right now and am desperate for some advice!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Sounds very similar to what happens to my car; runs great at first when started then starts to backfire and stutter occasionally unless i drive agressively at higher rpm's.

I have a 2004 Mazda6s 3.0 with the CP-E mafci CAI, 163,000 kms (approx 101k miles). At about 125k kms (78k miles) misfires started to occur throwing a CEL for cylinder 3. Replaced all 6 plugs. About 2-3 months later CEL came back for #3, replaced ignition coil. And about 3-5 months later CEL came on for #1 cylinder. Replaced coils #1 and #2 since the manifold was off, figured i would have the back 3 all replaced. This was approx 1 year ago and it ran good but not great up until the last 2-3 months.