Mazda 6 Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I'm new to this, I've had my 6 for about 1 and 1/2 years and have had no problems at all with it. On sunday 5-30-10 I started my car and as I was pulling out, it seemed like I had less power. I ignored it at first, but it got worse and worse as I drove down the road. I would punch it and it would bearly accelerate, finally the car shut off while I was driving. I shifted it to neutral and started it back up and it wouldnt let me rev past 2000-2500 rpms. I had it towed to the mazda dealership, its still in warrenty. I wonder what happened to it.:confused:

·
Registered
585 Posts
Have them check for clogged/failed catalytic converters.

·
Registered
1,610 Posts
I agree with tkemme. Sounds like plugged pre-cats. These can be hard to diagnose and an inexperienced mechanic may come with some strange reasons for the engine behavior, but it's basically choking on it's own exhuast. The cats should be covered by the mandated emissions warranty for 80K or more miles, so hopefully you're covered. Get both the front, and rear bank pre-cats replaced if you can!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
You guys were right, I called and they said the cat is clogged. It has 60,200 miles.

·
Registered
585 Posts
There are 4 cats total; 2 pre and 2 final. Which one(s) clogged? If the rear precat clogged, have them clean out the EGR tube and valve along with the entire intake manifold. When that rear one clogs, bad stuff starts recirculating back into the engine through the EGR system and can literally destroy your engine in a matter of minutes! Have you read the thread on precat and engine failure? I'll bump it back to the top of the list.

Reactions: DerekMazda6s

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #7